“Sorry, I can’t come to work today, I have a tonne of work to do”

Manjari Sharma
2 min readJun 17, 2021

--

I hope it’s not just me.

Haven’t you ever thought about calling out of work just to clear your flooded task-list and get a jumpstart the following day? Never?

I have to admit, I’ve been there A LOT.

To the person reading this, I hope you’re not a potential employer, or worse, my current manager because in my defence I only think about it. The bone you need in your body to actually do such a thing is exactly the one I’m missing.

But I do think about it A LOT. I play the entire scenario in my head, scene by scene. Imagining what the entire day would look like—I’d take my laptop to the park, pop some music in my ears, change my slack status from online to away (oh dear, so naughty) and blissfully drown myself in work without the worry of having additional stuff added to my plate. I logout after 8 hours of a super productive day and let my colleagues know that all’s well and I’ll be logging in the next day. And catch 8 hours of sound sleep.

Here’s me ruining my weekends, back in the day. And that’s my Missy girl, resting her head on my lap 🥺

There was a time my weekends used to look like that. But I quickly (not really) realised that I’m doing myself a massive disservice by taking away the weekend from me where I could have indulged in some of my other hobbies instead for my mental wellness. Like painting or playing my ‘stringstruments’.

Now my weekends look like me sitting at my desk, not working but also not doing anything else. As I type this, I shamefully catch a glimpse of my guitar that I very eagerly mounted on the wall next to my desk thinking it’d be a reminder for me to play more often. I don’t even have the time to clean the dust off.

Anyway. On this note, let me start my work day. It’s 10:30 AM on a Thursday and I’m rambling on here with my day dreams. Hope I haven’t given you any unsolicited ideas, *grins*.

--

--

Manjari Sharma

Hi there! Thanks for reading my blogs. I like to write about thoughts and incidents that flex my brain cells. I'm also a climate action advocate 🌧️🌏🔥